Mushroom Gorgonzola Pizza

The second pizza that I made last night, unlike the Fra Diavolo from my last post, did have cheese (sorry Sam!) But, I chose gorgonzola because it’s a strong cheese, so a little goes a long way. It’s also a nice accompaniment to the shitake and cremini mushrooms that I bought to top this pie.

Once again, I began with my standard dough. I used the second half the tomato sauce that I detailed in the last post. Then, I prepared the toppings and once again, slid it onto a pizza stone in a hot oven. Less than 10 minutes later, I had a tasty mushroom gorgonzola pie!

shitake pizzaMushroom Gorgonzola Pizza Toppings

INGREDIENTS

  • Olive Oil
  • 1 garlic clove, smashed and finely minced
  • 4 large shitake mushrooms, stems removed, sliced
  • 6-8 cremini mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • Sea salt to taste
  • 4 campari tomatoes, sliced into eighths
  • Gorgonzola cheese
  • Fresh chopped basil

Lightly coat a skillet with olive oil and place on medium heat. Add garlic and cook for 30 seconds to one minute. Add mushrooms and wine and cover. Cook until mushrooms are tender. Salt to taste.

Assembly and Baking of Mushroom Gorgonzola Pizza

Place a baking stone on the center rack of the oven and preheat to 500, or its highest temperature. Sprinkle cornmeal on the counter top and roll out the dough into a large disc. Top with sauce. Use a slotted spoon to transfer the mushrooms to the pizza. Evenly distribute the tomato slices. ┬áSlice as much cheese as you’d like to use (a little goes a long way) and evenly distribute as well. Sprinkle additional cornmeal onto the baking stone, and slide the uncooked pizza onto the baking stone. Bake for 7-9 minutes, or until crust is browned and cheese and toppings are bubbling. Garnish with fresh chopped basil and let cool for 3-5 minutes before cutting. Buon appetito!

