Braised Red Cabbage

Last week, Elaine Louie did a piece on the wonders of cabbage in her NY Times column, “The Temporary Vegetarian.” It’s cheap! It can be stored for a long time! And when properly cooked, it’s delicious! As it happened, I had about two-thirds of a head of cabbage sitting in the produce bin of my refrigerator, leftover from a slaw I had made for fish tacos. Inspired, I decided to make braised cabbage, using some other ingredients I had on hand in my pantry. Most of the recipes I found for braised cabbage called for savoy cabbage, but since I already had a red cabbage, I wanted to use that. I put it in a dutch oven that I had carmelized some onions in and  I added sliced garlic, apple cider vinegar (which helped it retain its red color), dried cranberries, a bay leaf and some vegetable broth. 30 minutes later, I had a delicious vegetable side.

Braised Red Cabbage

braised red cabbageINGREDIENTS

  • Olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon of brown sugar
  • 4 cloves of garlic, sliced
  • 1 head of red cabbage, cut into wedges
  • 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup of dried cranberries
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Vegetable broth

Coat a heavy duty saucepan or dutch oven with olive oil and place on medium heat. Add onions and brown sugar and cook until onions begin to caramelize. Add sliced garlic and a touch more olive oil and cook for about 3 more minutes. Add cabbage wedges, and cook for about 10 minutes. Turn the wedges over, add cider vinegar, cranberries, and a bay leaf. Add enough vegetable broth so that the pot is about 1/4 – 1/3 filled with liquid. Cover, and let cook for 20-25 minutes, or until cabbage is shiny, but not mushy. Enjoy!

