Savory Stuffed Apples

I’ve been on an apple kick this fall. I love buying different varieties of local apples. I’ve eaten them as is, sliced with peanut butter, in pies, grated with sweet potatoes and fried in olive oil, in salads– there are many ways to enjoy this fruit. The other night, I wanted to make something simple, but warm and savory. I had some small macouns and a leftover tart cranberry compote that I made by simmering fresh cranberries with some orange juice, rind, maple syrup and a pinch of cinnamon. I cut the macouns in half, and used a spoon to remove the seeds and core, so that each half had a small cavity. I preheated my oven and put my enamel, oven safe skillet  on medium heat, adding about a tablespoon of olive oil, and a small slice of butter to make it more rich. I added about 3/4 cups of red wine, and a few drops of maple syrup to the mixture– I didn’t want it to be too sweet. Then I placed the apple halves in the red wine mixture, and let them simmer for about 10 minutes. I didn’t want them to be poached, but just somewhat tender. I flipped the apples over, and stuffed each one with the cranberry mixture, and then topped with some gorgonzola. Walnuts would have been an excellent addition as well. I placed the entire thing int he oven for another 10 minutes or so, until the apples were bubbling, and the cheese was melted. The result was a delicious savory stuffed apple, almost like a dessert cheese course, but I had them for dinner.

Savory Stuffed Apples

apples in red wine sauceINGREDIENTS

  • Olive oil
  • Butter
  • 2 macoun apples, halved, with core removed
  • Cranberry compote
  • 3/4 cup red wine
  • 1-2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • Gorgonzola cheese

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Place an oven safe skillet over medium heat. Combine olive oil and butter in the skillet. When the butter has melted, add the red wine and maple syrup. Let cook for a couple minutes, and place the apples in the skillet, face down. Cover and let cook for 10 minutes. Turn the apples over, and fill each one with the cranberry compote. Stir any remaining compote into the red-wine sauce. Crumble gorgonzola cheese on top. Bake uncovered for 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted and mixture is bubbling. Serve warm, spooning additional sauce on top, and enjoy!

