A Triple Hit

This past weekend we celebrated the 30th birthday of my good friend, Neil. Of course, I was recruited to make cupcakes. I thought long and hard about what would be the most appropriate cupcake for my awesomely opinionated, brash, and inappropriate friend, and I knew that:

  1. I had to make something that contained alcohol AND

    Guinness cupcakes

    Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes with a Chocolate Jameson Filling and frosted with a Bailey's Buttercream.

  2. They should be somewhat offensive

With St. Patrick’s Day nearing, I’d seen some recipes for “Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes” and I knew I had a winner. The drink involves a pint of Guinness with a layered shot of Bailey’s and Jameson dropped in. Bonus points for being extra inappropriate because Neil’s girlfriend is English! When Neil saw them, he quickly renamed them “terrorist cakes.” And by the next morning I had a text message thanking me for my ” ‘quaeda cakes.” Call them whatever you want, but these Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes filled with Jameson Irish Whiskey Ganache and frosted with a Bailey’s Buttercream are super good.

I looked at several recipes, including Smitten Kitchen’s (who has named hers the very p c “Chocolate Whiskey and Beer Cupcakes” and Nigella’s Guinness Cake and adapted mine from those. I made minis, so they have a slightly higher filling to cake ratio. I also like to use melted baking chocolate rather than unsweetened cocoa, and yogurt rather than sour cream, because I always have it on hand. I also drizzled the cakes with extra Jameson when they were done baking, because I’d purchased a whole bottle and don’t often have use for Irish whiskey. Plus, I wanted these to pack a bit of a punch.

Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

Guinness Cakes

  • 1 cup  Guinness
  • 1/2  cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2/3 cup plain yogurt

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line 48 mini cupcake tins with paper liners.

Bring Guinness and butter to simmer in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add chocolate and whisk until mixture is smooth. Cool slightly.

Whisk flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt in large bowl to blend. Using electric mixer, beat eggs and yogurt in another large bowl to blend. Add stout-chocolate mixture to egg mixture and beat just to combine. Add flour mixture and beat briefly on slow speed. Using rubber spatula, fold batter until completely combined. Fill each cupcake tine 3/4 full. Bake cakes 11-15 minutes, or until tester inserted into center of cakes comes out clean. Cool about 10 minutes. Remove cakes from tin to cool completely.

Chocolate Jameson Ganache

  • 12 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2-4 tablespoons Jameson Irish Whiskey

Place the chopped chocolate in a medium sized stainless steel bowl. Set aside. Heat the cream and butter in a medium sized saucepan over medium heat. Bring just to a boil.  Immediately pour the boiling cream over the chocolate and allow to stand for 5 minutes. Stir with a whisk until smooth. Add the whiskey. Stir. this mixture should thicken as it cools.

When cakes have cooled, use a grapefruit spoon or a  small, generally cylindrical and sharp object to cut a hole in the center of each cake. I used a pastry tip with about a half inch diameter. Fill each cake with the ganache. Drizzle extra whiskey on the cakes, if desired. Frost with Bailey’s Buttercream (recipe below).

Bailey’s Buttercream

I use a mixture of butter and cream cheese in my recipe– I like the texture, and I think it keeps the frosting from being overpoweringly sweet, or too much like straight butter.

  • 8 ounces of cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3-4 cups confectioner’s sugar
  • 3-4 tablespoons Bailey’s Irish Cream

With an electric mixer, beat the cream cheese and butter until creamy. Slowly beat in the sugar, scraping the sides of the bowl as necessary. Add Bailey’s, and beat at a higher speed until fluffy, about 1 minute. Enjoy!

