Homemade goat cheese

I’m a big fan of ReadyMade magazine. The April/ May issue is devoted to food, and included instructions on how to make your own goat cheese. After my successful ricotta making episode, I decided I was ready to try it out. I purchased goat milk (sourced from a PA farm) and  liquid rennet at The Meat Hook. (The internet tells me that rennet tablets are also easy to find in your local grocery near the jello and junket, but, I haven’t seen these at any grocery near me.) Also, the ReadyMade recipe calls for Mesophilic Culture, but I substituted plain yogurt and it worked fine.

how to make goat cheeseFresh Goat Cheese

You’ll need fine cheesecloth, a colander and a candy thermometer. I mixed some fresh chopped dill into some of my cheese– it was a perfect way to usher in spring– yum!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 gallon fresh goat’s milk
  • 1/8 teaspoon MM Mesophilic Culture (I subbed with 1tsp yogurt)
  • 5 teaspoons water
  • liquid rennet
  • 1 teaspoon kosher or seasalt

Heat the goat’s milk to 75-80 degrees in a stainless steel pot. Stir in the culture/ yogurt. Add the distilled water into a small cup and stir in one drop of liquid rennet. Mix well and ad one tablespoon of the mixture to the milk. Stir well, cover, and place in a warm room for about 18 hours. (My apartment was cold when I made this, so I placed a space heater near the saucepan.)

Place two layers of fine cheesecloth over a colander and set in a deep pan or bowl. When the milk has coagulated, ladle the curds into the strainer. Let drain for an hour, stir in salt, scrape into a covered container and refrigerate for up to two weeks. Makes about 8 ounces of spreadable cheese. You can also shape the cheese into logs and let them age– from two days up to two weeks uncovered in the refrigerator– into a firmer consistency. (I did this with half of my cheese and it worked well!)

