Have Eggplant? Make Baba Ghanoush

Baba ghanoush is a middle eastern dip made from roasted eggplant. Although you can buy it pre-packaged at the store, I’ve never enjoyed it until I decided to try making it myself. It’s quick and simple, and you can make a nice meal of this dip, some hummus, pita, and a salad or some crudites. Although I made my eggplant in the oven, you could roast yours on the grill, making this a perfect summer dish!

baba ganoushBaba Ghanoush

As with most of my recipes, adjust the seasoning to your tastes. I like mine on the garlicky side, although I roast my garlic, so that its a bit more mellow. I also do not remove the skin from my eggplant. Although traditionally, the skin is removed, it has lots of nutrients and antioxidants, and when its chopped up in the food processor, its texture blends with the “meat” of the fruit.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 purple eggplant
  • 5 garlic cloves
  • Olive Oil
  • 1-2 dried chiles, crushed
  • Juice of 1 large lemon
  • 1/3 cup tahini
  • Sea salt to taste

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Slice the stem off the eggplant, and cut the whole fruit in half, lengthwise. Score the flesh of each half. Cover a baking sheet or stone with foil and mist the foil (or brush) with olive oil. Place the eggplants on the foil, cut side facing down, and roast for 20-25 minutes, or until the flesh is soft. Allow to cool.

Meanwhile, place each garlic clove in its own aluminum foil packet with a small bit of olive oil. The garlic should not be peeled. Place in the heated oven and roast 10-15 minutes, or until soft. Allow to cool, and squeeze the garlic pulp from each peel.

In a food processor, combine roasted eggplant, garlic, chiles, tahini and lemon juice and purée. Slowly stir in one to two tablespoons of additional olive oil. Add salt to taste. Enjoy with pita, toasted bread or crudites. (I love to dip cucumber slices in this!)

