Watermelon Salad

Summertime means summer salads. I love savory salads that include fruit. I used fresh herbs from my window sill/ box herb garden with watermelon to make this salad. Instead of cheese, I used pressed firm silken tofu in the salad for added protein. It’s a popular Japanese treat and the texture is firm yet creamy. It’s great with a little soy sauce, which I included in the dressing.

Watermelon Salad

I used lemon verbena and mint, because that was what I had growing. I’m sure that different basils would also work well.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 Watermelon, seeded and cubed
  • A handful of fresh mint, rinsed and chopped
  • A handful of lemon verbena, rinsed and chopped
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon course sea salt (to taste)
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 12.3 oz firm or extra firm silken tofu (one block)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 5 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • Juice of 1 lemon or lime
  • 1 tablespoon honey

Open the package of firm silken tofu. (It should be the kind that comes in a cardboard box, not the kind that comes in a plastic container packed in water. Place on clean towels, and then place more clean towels on top of it. Place a weight on top and let sit. (I use a cast iron pot filled with water as a weight.) When the towels are soaked, replace with dry towels and let sit with a weight again. Chop into small pieces.

In a large bowl, toss together watermelon, tomato, herbs, onion and tofu. Sprinkle salt over them. In a large cup, mix oil, rice vinegar, lemon or lime juice, and honey. Stir until blended. Pour over watermelon-tomato mixture and toss. Add additional fresh pepper and salt to taste. Enjoy!

