Green Sauce like Tina’s

Last month, Sam and I had lunch at his favorite Cuban restaurant, Tina’s, in Midtown. Sam advised me to get “extra green sauce” with whatever I ordered. I’m glad I took his advice. The creamy,  just slightly spicy cilantro-y sauce is delicious on plantains, potatoes, fries, or sandwiches.This week we made fish with potatoes, and I decided to try my hand at making my own version of “Tina’s green sauce.”

I did some research, and found out that Tina’s sauce is their version of a Peruvian aji, which is made from chiles, iceberg lettuce, cilantro, scallions, garlic powder and mayo. In my version, I omitted the iceberg lettuce, and used extra cilantro. Fresh garlic replaced the garlic powder, which gave the sauce more bite, and chives were substituted for scallions, because that’s what I had on hand. I also added extra virgin olive oil in addition to mayo, and the juice of 1/2 of a lime. Using the food processor, the entire thing took less than 5 minutes to make. Enjoy it on fish, potatoes, vegetables, eggs, and sandwiches.

peruvian ajiGreen Sauce like Tina’s

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large bunch of cilantro, rinsed
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, smashed and minced
  • 3-4 jalapeños
  • 1/3 cup of fresh chives
  • 1/4 cup of mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil
  • Juice of 1/2 lime
  • Sea salt to taste

Place all of the ingredients in a food processor or blender, and blend until it has the consistency of a creamy sauce. Salt to taste.

